Uncategorized

Lord Knows I Try

You know what? I’m not a perfect woman.

Cleaning & organizing doesn’t come naturally to me. I don’t always have my hair and makeup done. My roots? They’re about an inch long. My nails are rarely manicured (unless by manicured you mean “bitten”), and it’s an even rarer day that I actually paint my nails.

So today I was feeling really down on myself, sitting there in my yoga pants (definitely didn’t do yoga) and looking around me at clothes piled on the dresser, my frizzy hair a mess, biting away at my nails and wondering if I’ll ever be a real woman.

But what is a real woman? Is appearance all there is? Or is there more? Where does our value lie?

There are things I’m really great at. I love baking and cooking. I don’t want to get all cocky but I think I’m pretty good at it. We eat in all the time and I’m really proud of us for that.

I am good at loving. I love Josh. I love my family. I love our friends. I love God.

I am good at working at my job, which incidentally, is at home – but that doesn’t mean I have all the time in the world to do housework. I devote a lot of time and thought and care to what I do, and most days I think I’m good at it. 🙂

I’m good at trying. I try to keep up with the dishes. I try to keep the floor swept. I try to keep the bathrooms clean. I try to look nice. I can always try harder for sure, but with these things that are hard for me to keep up with, trying consistently is enough.

I’m so thankful to have a husband that knows me, that knows I try, that doesn’t hold me to unrealistic expectations, and who helps me with the house and the dishes and everything on top of it all. What a guy.

This is just what was on my heart today.

 

image

 

image

Standard

Leave a Reply

