Uncategorized

Thoughts on Identity

These are all really old photos.

The first was from photography school, when we were first learning color printing and color balancing in the dark room. I thought I’d be so clever and make this color collage of my face, and in a totally dark room (no red light in color printing, folks) it was actually a lot more difficult to do than it looks. I don’t know why but it seems really fitting for me and I still love it.

The second photo is when I recorded a little cello for A Plea for Purging’s album “A Critique of Mind and Thought” hence my totally metal face. I used to want to pursue a career in music, I play piano, violin, cello, guitar and bass. I tried the flute and I hated it.

The third photo was post-photography school, when I was totally convinced I was going to pursue a career in commercial photography. I was testing out the Alien Bees ring light.

I had coffee this morning with the lovely Courtney this morning who shared some really good thoughts on unplugging and finding your voice, your identity, and in her words, what makes your heart sing. 🙂 It’s something I’ve been thinking about recently and wondering if I’ve oversaturated myself with the influence of others that I don’t really know what my own style and identity is anymore. Too much pinterest, maybe. Too much blog reading. Too many style guides. It’s nice to step aside and try to hear your own voice again, to find that creativity without following someone else’s recipe or instructions, to make something fresh and new with your own personality to it. How freeing is it to just make things because you thought of it? How rewarding is that!?

How nice would it be to dedicate time away from influence and focus on who we really are, and what impact we as individuals really want to make on the world? I didn’t mean to be all preachy or anything, just some thoughts. I think back on all the different plans I used to have for myself, the different identities I felt comfortable with, and I see how far I am from that… and I wonder if I’m just really off track, or if this was my identity all along.

Also, we had cherry pie for breakfast and that was a perfect idea.

Standard

3 thoughts on “Thoughts on Identity

  1. I love this entry! I feel like this is what Ryan and I are in the midst of doing. Unplugging certainly does help re-orient oneself. Being online is great to spark creativity and share ideas, but my new favorite form of creativity is brainstorming ideas with Ryan over dinner every night on our patio – face to face with my partner in crime, making plans to write music, work in the garden, plan events at our house, etc. It’s interacting with real-live PEOPLE and DOING creative things that really make life good!

    • So TRUE Christina! I wish we lived much closer… I think we’d have such a great unplugged creative neighborly life. 🙂 We miss ya’ll alot. I’m so inspired by your deleting almost everything and just DOING life like you said!!

  2. Thank you so much for writing this. I am in the process of making my own website for my photography and videography and this is exactly what I needed to hear. I was at the right place at the right time, and I am glad to have stumbled upon this.

Leave a Reply

