life, photography, Travels

I always pronounce Tucson as “tuck son” in my head, so I remember how to spell it.

Last weekend, we drove to Tucson, AZ for a wedding (you can see a preview of that wedding here). I’m trying to challenge myself to take more photos of our life, rather than only taking them for clients. I don’t mean to totally neglect our real life, but usually I just rely on my cell phone camera, but I’m trying to change that!

While we were in Tucson we got to meet up with one of Josh’s old friends from when he was in the Army (yeah, you read that right. Josh was in the Army a lifetime ago! It’s a little hard to believe sometimes.) They haven’t hung out in like ten years or more, and it was awesome for me to get to hear stories of when Josh was a little punk kid in the army. We went to this little pub called Bison Witches. They had maybe the best sandwiches of our who lives!

It’s really interesting walking around Tucson, it’s pretty different from Phoenix. We kept thinking it was like the Portland or Olympia of Arizona. Tucson is colorful with loads of character… & characters. (The Hotel Congress shot at the top is one I had to get – I heard something like they caught John Dillinger there? Is that true? I could google it but I’ll just wait for someone to confirm or correct me I guess. Haha.)

We yelped a coffee spot and found Crave coffee bar. It was perfect, sometimes it’s hard to find a place that doesn’t make their drinks way too sweet.

No coffees were pictured here, I realize this. Once we got the coffees we were just too eager to drink them up. I didn’t even instagram them, so you KNOW we needed it. Just kidding. typical instagram coffee joke, but the joke’s on me.

Heading back to Phoenix. I love the desert…. as long as the air conditioning works.

Finally arrived back home. Sadie didn’t seem too excited to see us, I think she just loves Billie and Jeff so much for hanging out with her while we were gone! (Thanks guys!!)

We’re about to leave this week for a MONTH on the road for three different weddings in three different states, and a few more shoots while we’re at it. I’m so excited and a little terrified of being gone for so long, and doing so much digital workflow on the road. Just gotta make it happen, right? We’ve spent the past couple of weeks upgrading our computers / software so that everything is nice & reliable & faster. 🙂

It’s hard to believe that when we get back home it’s going to be OCTOBER. How has this year gone by so fast? We’ve been here almost a year and that blows my mind. I still tell people we just moved here… I guess I should stop saying that. Haha! We’re not so new to Phoenix anymore. Thank goodness. It’s hard to break into a new city, friends, and church! I’m so grateful that we have all of that.

So in honor of September / October I made a little fall playlist on Spotify if you care to listen. The music is a little more fitting for this colder, drearier, spookier season. 🙂 Click here to listen!

Happy nearly-autumn!

Standard

One thought on “I always pronounce Tucson as “tuck son” in my head, so I remember how to spell it.

Leave a Reply

